Who will be crowned African artiste of the Year? Soundcity MVP Awards Festival returns January 11th, 2020 – See Nominees!

Record release after record release, massive hit songs, absolutely amazing new revelations, record-shattering sales, globally sold-out concerts…the year 2019 has definitely been one of the most amazing ever witnessed in the African pop music scene. Now its time to recognize who are the real MVPs of the 2019 Afro-Pop Music experience. SOUNDCITY MVP Awards Festival is set for another amazing round of unveiling your top ballers.

Unanimously regarded as the king of the hill and the most prestigious event of the year after year on the continent, the SOUUNDCITY MVPs celebrate music, community and the most outstanding Afrocentric cultural achievements in the most premium live TV event.

The Soundcity MVP Awards Festival is famed for iconic performances from Busiswa’s electric stage domination to her never seen before joint performance with Niniola to Jidenna’s much talked about closing performance in the last edition all the way back to when 2baba Idibia, Sarkodie, Davido, Emtee, Patoranking, Tiwa Savage, and Cassper Nyovest’s colorfully live set showmanship in the 2017 edition.

Beyond the show-stopping performances, audiences have come to revel in the beauty of live television as produced by the Soundcity Africa team for the ceremony that is now in its fourth year of running as the MVPs and well over a decade of being SMVAs.

In 2019, The Soundcity MVP Music Awards introduced the special recognitions and non-voting award presentations in multiple categories including Special recognitions in Business Entrepreneurship; Sports; Fashion; Social Entrepreneurship/Digital Influence; Community/Socio-political development; and Creative Arts.

Since the awards’ inception in 2017, Sponsors like CocaCola, 9mobile, and Guinness together with Soundcity MVP Awards have delivered world-class live performances with appearances by such International and superstar artists as Cassper Nyovest, Navy Kenzo, Jidenna, Busiswa, Sarkodie, Davido, Patoranking, M.I. Abaga, Emtee, Kizz Daniel, Tiwa Savage, and many others.

The nominations list for the fourth edition of the Soundcity MVP Awards Festival which was first announced across the Soundcity Radio Network with voting now open to the public.

According to Mr. Tajuddeen Adepetu, Executive producer of the Soundcity MVPs, “ current estimates show that the 2020 SOUNDCITY MVPs telecast which will be aired live across the continent on Saturday, January 11th  on the Soundcity TV channel DSTV 327 to an anticipated 25 million viewers across the continent”.

The event producer, Mr. Adeniji Daniel says that “…this year’s edition of the Soundcity MVPs promises to bring our fans the best performances from the hottest musical acts on the continent. Also in the bag of surprises will be international show hosts, unexpected collaborations and buzzworthy pop culture moments that will definitely have the world talking for a long time to come…”

See the list of nominees for the year 20202 edition of Soundcity MVP:


Fireboy (NG) | Joeboy (NG)| Marioo (TZ) | Rema (NG) | Simmy (SA) | Wendy Shay (GH)


Blow My Mind – Davido x Chris Brown (NG) | Daz How Star Do – Skiibii x Teni, Falz x DJ Neptune (NG) | Gugulethu – Prince Kaybee  x Indlovukazi x Afro Brothers x Supto (SA) | Jama – DJ Micsmith x Patoranking x shaker (GH) | Killin Dem – Burna boy x Zlatan (NG) | Inama – Diamond Platinumz x Fally Ipupa (TZ)


Innos B (CNG) | Joeboy (NG) | Kizz Daniel (NG) | Mayorkun (NG) | Naira Marley (NG) | Nandy (TZ) | Otile Brown (KE) | Teni (NG) | Rayvanny (TZ)


Blaqbonez (NG) | Falz (NG) | Khaligraph Jones (KE) | Kwesta (SA) | Medikal (GH) | Nyashinski (KE) | Sarkodie (GH) | Reminisce (NG) | Riky Rick (SA) | Zakwe (SA)


Black Motion (SA) | Blaq Diamond (SA) | Dope Nation (GH) | Ethic (KE) | Show Dem Camp (NG) | Toofan (TG)


Cracker (NG) | Prince Kaybee (SA) | Jay Synth (NG) | Kel P (NG) | MOG (GH) | Ozedikus (NG) | Pheelz (NG) | Rexxie (NG) | S2Kizzy (TZ)


DJ Crème de la Crème (KE) | DJ Kaywise (NG) | DJ Neptune (NG) | DJ Spinall (NG) | DJ Vyrusky (GH) | DJ Zinhle (SA)


Cassper Nyovest | Davido | Diamond Platnumz | Kizz Daniel | Mr Eazi | Yemi Alade | Wizkid


49-99 – Tiwa Savage by Meji Alabi (NG) | Dangote – Burna Boy by Clarence Peters (NG) | Jericho – Simi x Patoranking by Adasa Cookey (NG) | Ngwa – Bassey Blk by Tebogo Malope (SA) | Ohema – Kuami Eugene by Rex (GH)


Baby – Joeboy (NG) | Dumebi – Rema (NG) | Fetch your Life – Prince Kaybee x Msaki (SA) | Jealous – Fireboy (NG) | Jama – DJ Micsmith x Patoranking x Shaker (GH) | Kainama – Harmonize x Burna Boy (TZ) | Killin Dem – Burna Box x Zlatan (NG) | Kpo K3K3 – Stonebwoy x Medikal x Kelvynboy x Kwesi Arthur x Darkovibes (GH) | Oil & Gas – Olamide (NG)


49-99 – Tiwa Savage (NG) | Able God – Chinko Ekun x Lil Kesh x Zlatan (NG) | Banomoya – DJ Kaybee x Busisiwa x TNS (SA) | My Level – Shatta Wale (GH) | On The Low – Burna Boy (NG) | Soapy – Naira Marley (NG) | Tetema – Rayvanny x Diamond Platnumz (TZ) | Zanku (Legwork) – Zlatan (NG)


Betty G (ETH) | Daphne (CMR) | Nandy (TZ) | Sho Madjozi (SA) | Teni (NG) | Tiwa Savage (NG) | Yemi Alade (NG)


Burna Boy (NG) | Davido (NG) | Diamond Platnumz (TZ) | King Promise (GH) | Sjava (SA) | Wizkid (NG) | Zlatan (NG)


Baby – Joeboy (NG) | Case – Teni (NG) | Dumebi – Rema (NG) | Fetch Your Life – Prince Kaybee x Msaki (SA) | Jama – DJ Micsmith x Patoranking, Shaker (GH) | Jealous – Fireboy (NG) | Killin Dem – Burna Boy x Zlatan (NG) | Malwhede – King Monada (SA) | Soapy – Naira Marley (NG) | Tetema – Rayvanny x Diamond Platnumz (TZ) | Zanku (Legwork) – Zlatan (NG)


Burna Boy (NG) | Davido (NG) | Diamond Platnumz (TZ) | Shatta Wale (GH) | Sho Madjozi (SA) | Tiwa Savage (NG) | Wizkid (NG) | Yemi Alade (NG)

Fans can now vote on www.soundcitymvp.com and For the latest “Soundcity MVP” (MVPs) news, exclusive content and more, follow the MVPs on social media @soundcitymvp and join the conversation by using the official hashtag for the show, #SoundcityMVP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *